Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Oh my aching back (Read 2345 times)
Helen
YaBB Administrator

hello

Oh my aching back
Nov 6th, 2011 at 5:56pm
Print Post  
I have had a little bit of a bad back history over the last 10 years, but yesterday I graduated into a new realm.
- Getting up from a prone position was agony.
- Rotating my prone postion was agony.
- Sitting was agony.
- I could only stand for 10 minutes before I would have to lie down again.

All I could do was lie on my sides, and find a sweet spot where the pain was tolerable. A couple hours after waking up it wasn't going away so I had to do the 911 thing. I called my mum first, she came over first so that she could follow ambulance when it came. I couldn't just be driven to the hospital, sitting in the car would have been impossible.

Ambulance took about half an hour to arrive. They knew I hadn't been shot or anything so I was a lower priority. At hospital I continued to lay on the stretcher (on my side) in the hallway for about half an hour.

Then I was transferred to a bed in another hallway where I waited for about 3 or 4 hours, I can't quite remember. During this time I got up twice, the body needed a break from lying down in one position so long. It was a relief at first to stand for a bit, but eventually I would start looking at the bed and knowing I would have to lie down again and dreading the transition from upright to prone.

Finally into a room where we waited just 45 mins for the doctor. This guy I didn't like (all the previous EMS/nurses who had talked to me I liked). He touched me twice, and when he talked to me he mostly looked at a spot two feet above my head. He ordered x-rays and was gone. I was pretty bummed.